UNDERAGE POSSESSION & CONSUMPTION OF ALCOHOL
It is illegal for anyone under the age of 21 to attempt to purchase, possess, or consume alcohol in public or private. No one under the age of 21 shall be intoxicated in public. If you are with your parents or spouse who is of-age, then you can be as drunk as a skunk and the previous statements do not apply. Specifically, Ohio Revised Code 4301.69(E)(1) states:
"No underage person shall knowingly order, pay for, share the cost of, attempt to purchase, possess, or consume any beer or intoxicating liquor in any public or private place. No underage person shall knowingly be under the influence of any beer or intoxicating liquor in any public place. The prohibitions set forth in division (E)(1) of this section against an underage person knowingly possessing, consuming, or being under the influence of any beer or intoxicating liquor shall not apply if the underage person is supervised by a parent, spouse who is not an underage person, or legal guardian, or the beer or intoxicating liquor is given by a physician in the regular line of the physician's practice or given for established religious purposes."
Underage possession or underage consumption is a first degree misdemeanor (most serious misdemeanor). It is punishable by up to 180 days in jail, and a $1000 fine, plus court costs.
TIPS TO AVOID CONVICTION
- If you are under 21, do not drink in public places;
- If you are under 21, and intoxicated, avoid public places such as bars, festivals, and tailgates;
- Do not yell, scream, or otherwise act intoxicated when in public;
- If you are stopped by the police for public intox, do not provide a fake ID (that will just get you an extra charge!); and
- Just call your lawyer.
We provide no charge issue assessments at your place or ours. Call/text Leslie at 614.403.7356 or email Leslie@AWLawOhio.com