JUVENILE SEX OFFENSES/AGE OF CONSENT
In Ohio, the age of consent is 16. This means a 16 year old can consent to sexual activity with an adult as long as it is not forced, coerced, or with a person in a position of power over them (teacher, coach, etc.).
If the child is 13 years old, can consent to anyone 13-17
If the child is 14 years old, can consent to anyone 13-17
If the child is 15 years old, can consent to anyone 13-17
If the child is 16 years old, can consent to anyone 13-200
Don’t talk about sex via text, social media, e-mail, chat rooms. You can be charged with a number of crimes in Ohio for creating, sending, receiving, or showing a minor sexually oriented content - which includes words or images.
Rape, Sexual Battery, Unlawful Sexual Conduct with Minor, Gross Sexual Imposition, Sexual Imposition, Importuning, Voyeurism, Disseminatingor Displaying Matter Harmful to Juveniles, Pandering Obscenity/Sexually Oriented Matter, etc.
Prison time, jail time, fines, court costs, requirement to register as a sex offender (up to your lifetime, verification of address, limitations on where you can live, community notification). For specific penalties based on classification of charge, visit our criminal penalties page.
Questions? Call or text Leslie Albeit at 614.403.7356, or email firstname.lastname@example.org.