HOSTING AN UNDERAGE DRINKING PARTY
It is against Ohio law for an owner or a lessee to KNOWINGLY allow someone under 21 years old to possess or consume alcohol on your property.
Specifically, Ohio Revised Code 4301.69(B) states "No person who is the owner or occupant of any public or private place shall knowingly allow any underage person to remain in or on the place while possessing or consuming beer or intoxicating liquor, unless the intoxicating liquor or beer is given to the person possessing or consuming it by that person's parent, spouse who is not an underage person, or legal guardian and the parent, spouse who is not an underage person, or legal guardian is present at the time of the person's possession or consumption of the beer or intoxicating liquor."
A violation of ORC 4301.69(B) is a first degree misdemeanor (most serious misdemeanor), carrying a maximum penalty of 180 days in jail and a $1000 fine, plus court costs.
TIPS TO AVOID CONVICTION
- Post signs throughout your property clearly stating no one under the age of 21 is permitted to consume alcohol on the premises;
- Check IDs at the door;
- Check IDs where the alcohol is stationed;
- Provide non-alcoholic beverages for guests under 21;
- Monitor activities closely; and
- Call your lawyer if you have any questions!
We provide no charge issue assessments at your place or ours. Call/text Leslie at 614.403.7356 or email Leslie@AWLawOhio.com