GIVING (FURNISHING) ALCOHOL TO MINORS
Everyone knows, or should know, that you cannot furnish alcohol to anyone under the age of 21. That includes buying for, selling to, or simply giving a minor alcohol. Ohio Revised Code 4301.69(A) simply states: "Except as otherwise provided in this chapter, no person shall sell beer or intoxicating liquor to an underage person, shall buy beer or intoxicating liquor for an underage person, or shall furnish it to an underage person, unless given by a physician in the regular line of the physician's practice or given for established religious purposes or unless the underage person is supervised by a parent, spouse who is not an underage person, or legal guardian."
A violation of 4301.69(A) is a first degree misdemeanor (the most serious misdemeanor). It is punishable by up to 180 days in jail, a mandatory minimum fine of $500, but anywhere up to a $1000 fine, plus court costs.
TIPS TO AVOID CONVICTION
- Do not buy, sell, or give alcohol to anyone under the age of 21; and
- Call your lawyer if you have any questions!
We provide no charge issue assessments at your place or ours. Call/text Leslie at 614.403.7356 or email Leslie@AWLawOhio.com